Thought Bubble 2018 runs 17th – 23rd September!

Nelson! by thoughtbubblefestival

Hey gang! Hope you all had a very happy Star Wars day, and if you don’t celebrate that particular holiday, well, laugh it up fuzzball. Something a bit different on the blog today, as we’re bringing you the first bit of news about an exciting new British comics project!

Nelson, a new collaborative graphic novel from Blank Slate Books will be launching this November at Thought Bubble’s convention, and features an awesome line-up of British comics talent. We’ll be celebrating the arrival of this major new work with signings and a panel, and will be bringing you more information throughout the year as the launch approaches.

So, who is Nelson? Well, Nel Baker’s story starts in 1968 (the year of her birth) and takes us through to the present day, with each creator presenting a snapshot of one year of her life. In the words of Rob Davis (Dr Who, Don Quixote) the anthology’s editor – “I don’t know if anyone’s tried anything like this before, I just think it’s a great way to show what separates comic artists from other artists – we don’t just draw pictures, we tell stories! I wanted us to avoid the ‘pick-and-choose’ aspect of most anthologies and get everyone writing their own chapters, working together to tell one continuous story. So whether a creator is your favourite or someone whose work you’d never normally go near, they all become an essential read.”

We’ve got a sneak peak at some of the art below, as well as some more information, simply click the images to embiggen them.

The line-up of talent involved looks simply stunning, but don’t take my word for it, have a gander at the contributors…

Rob Davis, Woodrow Phoenix, Ellen Lindner, Jamie Smart, Gary Northfield, Sarah McIntyre, Suzy Varty, Sean Longcroft, Warwick Johnson-Cadwell, Luke Pearson, Paul Harrison-Davies, Katie Green, Paul Peart-Smith, Glyn Dillon, Ian Culbard, John Allison, Philip Bond, Matt (D’Israeli) Brooker, Simone Lia, Daryl Cunningham, Jonathan Edwards, Ade Salmon, Kate Charlesworth, Warren Pleece, Kristyna Baczynski, James Harvey, Rian Hughes, Sean Phillips + Pete Doree, Kate Brown, Simon Gane, Oliver East, Adam Cadwell, Faz Choudhury, Jake, Jeremy Day, Dan McDaid, Roger Langridge, Will Morris, Dave Shelton, Carol Swain, Hunt Emerson, Duncan Fegredo, Philippa Rice, Garen Ewing, Tom Humberstone, Dan Berry, Kate Evans, Laura Howell, Andi Watson and Dave Taylor.

Very much a project worth getting excited about, so come to Thought Bubble 2011 and meet Nel Baker for the first time!

That’s all for now, Friends of Thought Bubble returns next week!

– Clark


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] out for it at Thought Bubble 2011, which will includes aĀ panel that could potenĀ­tially outĀ­numĀ­ber the audiĀ­e… and all manĀ­ner of […]

Pingback by Nelson at The Comics Bureau

[…] creators, 43 years, 1 narrative. Nelson is a very different take on an anthology. By asking artists to each take 1 year of a person’s […]

Pingback by Links from Last Year | GSA Postgrad Comic Books Elective

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: